Book now

William Dawson (1899-1990) is not very well known in Norway. In his home country, the USA, he eventually received his education and wrote both orchestral and choral works. His Negro Folk Symphony was completed in 1934 but thus gets its Scandinavian (!) premiere tonight. Leopold Stokowski was responsible for the first performance in the autumn of 1934. But it was not until Neeme Järvi performed the work in 2001 that it became known in Europe. The work was revised in 1952, with African rhythms inspired by Dawson's journey to West Africa. The three movements have titles that speak for themselves. Dawson himself says that the work was an attempt to safeguard lost elements that had been enslaved outside their homeland.

John Williams is primarily known for film music but has also written many works for orchestra. His Tuba Concerto (1985) was written for the 100th anniversary of the Boston Pops. It is a resilient concert where the intensity peaks in the interesting last movement. August Schieldrop has himself expressed his wish to contribute to the tuba being used more as a solo instrument and to show everyone that the tuba can also sing. Tonight he will let the tuba unfold together with the orchestra.

The great Ninth Symphony in E minor ("From the New World") by Antonín Dvorák was the composer's last work and was written in New York in 1893. Composing came easily to Dvorák; early on he was given a "heavenly naturalness". While Dvorák had previously used elements of Czech folklore, but never with quotations, in America he had listened to both the music of the blacks and Native American music. Elements of this are present in his Ninth, but again without citing. He fuses the elements, as before, with a classic-romantic form. The result is new sonorous effects in a work that became his most popular. The themes are developed in free variations; the main theme of the first movement, which is prepared in the slow introduction, reappears in the next three movements in significant places. This cyclical connection culminates towards the end in a magnificent effect that the listener can associate with the sublime.

William Dawson: Negro Folk Symphony - Scandinavian premiere
John Williams: Tuba Concerto
Antonín Dvorak: Symphony No. 9 'From the New World'

Aage Richard Meyer, conductor
August Schieldrop, tuba

About. 1 hour and 30 minutes, including a break

Stavanger Symphony Orchestra


  • Sandvigå 1
  • 4007
51 53 70 00


Beer & wine:
Food available:

Where is SSO Hovedserien: Klanger fra den nye verden?

Fjord Norway's secondary logo